The Dark Knight Rises Review

The Dark Knight Rises is the last of a three-part series based off of the Dark Knight Returns comics. The Dark Knight Rises continues seven years after the death of Harvey Dent or known to few as Two Face. Christian Bale starring as Bruce Wayne, has once again hung up his black cape as he resides in the lonely darkness of his grand mansion enduring the hurt from his loved ones lost and the ridicule of Batman. Now with a new villain on the rise, Bane played by Tom Hardy, Wayne makes the decision to rise against this new enemy who seeks to bring terror through the city of Gotham.

The movie takes place during a span of three months where Wayne has come to find and overcome his weakness as he watches uselessly with the disappearance of Batman has brought upon the city of Gotham. What I love is that the bad guy is actually winning and is more surreal than other superhero tales. The super hero doesn’t come kick the villain to his knees and everyone goes home and lives happily ever after. This is a powerful and evil character that is seeing his plans through the end; he hinders the city as well as their hero and it takes time to bring the enemy to justice. There was no miracle that the right thing just happened to appear at the right time to win back the city; Wayne has to work within himself, shut off from the world to save his city. If he did not find what he was missing within himself, Gotham would be the city remembered buried under the surface of the sea.

Not only do we see the conflicting emotion of Wayne we see deeper into other characters such as his butler Alfred, who has always shown his care for Wayne and Batman, but finds his breaking point to his feelings of Wayne playing hero of the night.

The story of Bane in the Dark Knight Rises is a new story that I have not heard from in the Batman series. Bane’s character has always been the henchman of a superior, whom they did portray in the movie, but the personality of Bane was far superior and intelligent than any Bane character in the previous world of Batman. The character on its own when not compared to previous characters was brilliant. I loved the persona of Bane he was a real villain powerful, manipulative, intelligent and vengeful. The voice modification they used for Bane shone a different angle of light to this villain. His voice was unexpected but this high shrill tone coming from this beast like figure added to the hysteria of his character like a scientist, a genius in his own insanity. Stepping away from the deep heinous voice so often heard from characters dark and luring played up the villainous character bringing something original to the scene.

Anne Hathaway playing the role of Cat Woman was questionable entering into the theater, but after watching the movie my answers have finally become clear, this was the wrong role for her. Cat Woman was not needed in the movie, but the fact that they decided to add her character into The Dark Knight Rises they should have chosen someone who could have taken the gloves of Cat Woman and her make her character wanted in the movie.

Hathaway’s performance as Cat Woman was mediocre to say, I did not feel she became the role of this manipulative jewel thief. If you were to throw her up on the screen of any movie I would not believe that she was Cat Woman, but more just a girl trying to play bad. Showing off her swift moves as Cat Woman as she brought down members of the opposing team would’ve been more impressive if it was Hathaway doing her own stunts; maybe then she could have fed more off her character. Acting is more than saying a few lines with a pretty smirk. Cat Woman was just a pretty accessory in this movie that was not worthy of the steal.

Stargate fans can find a surprise appearance from Christopher Judge, the scene was short and a little unrealistic for it being Judge playing the part, but after all this is fiction where is the reality in that definition.

The Dark Knight series has met its end, though it was not the greatest Batman films that has released to date, the movies did have its moments that will be forever remembered in Batman history. With the foreshadowing of the movie I’m sure we will see in the future the rising of once beloved characters for the next generation to also come to love.

The Dark Knight Rises thumbs or thumbs down?

Tweet me your thoughts

12 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises Review

  1. Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great article.

  2. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specifically the closing part 🙂 I care for such information much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    • Thank you for reading. It has taken me a moment to try to find where I was going with my blog but thanks for not giving up on me and standing by. I’m happy to hear your feedback on my writing and I hope to bring more exciting works for you to read ^.^

  3. I liked as much as you’ll receive performed right here. The caricature is attractive, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you want be turning in the following. in poor health undoubtedly come more in the past again as precisely the similar nearly a lot frequently inside of case you defend this increase.

  4. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The full glance of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content material!

    • Thank you. I have been running my blog since May of this year. I love writing and have had past experience with freelance journalism, so I have no problem with the content. I didn’t think I could run a blog, but I just decided to kick myself off the plank and learn to swim. Once you find your groove in what you want your blog to be about everything just falls into place. I’m glad you are enjoying my blog and always check back in for something new. *^_^*

Leave a Reply

